From Fish Factor, Feb. 12, 2016 npfmc

– More than a dozen names are in the hat for two upcoming seats on the North Pacific Fishery Management Council. They would replace members Duncan Fields of Kodiak who has served a maximum three years. David Long of Wasilla, whose first term also expires this year, could be reappointed. Also in the mix:

Alan Austerman of Kodiak, a former Alaska legislator and  Fisheries Policy Advisory to Gov. Frank Murkowksi.

Linda Behnken of Sitka, is a commercial fisherman, director of the Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association and a former Council member.
Julie Bonney of Kodiak is director of the Alaska Groundfish Data Bank and has helped shape fishery management structures in the Bering Sea and Gulf of Alaska.
Ed Dersham served eight years on the state Board of Fish, and was a former two –term Council members.
Theresa Peterson is a commercial fisherman, and Kodiak Outreach Coordinator for the Alaska Marine Conservation Council.
Art Nelson is director of the Bering Sea Fisherman’s Association, based in Anchorage, and also serves on the Council Advisory Panel.          Buck Laukitis of Homer is a commercial fisherman and past president of the North Pacific Fisheries Association.
Paul Gronholdt of Sand Point, represents the Aleutian/Pribilof Islands on the Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference. He is also a commercial fisherman.
Rhonda Olivia Pitka of Beaver is a village chief and participated in a roundtable discussion with President Obama during his Alaska visit.

Jim Sepel of Juneau is a retired Coast Guard commander who served on the Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council under former Governor Parnell.
Rebecca Skinner of Kodiak is an attorney, serves on the Borough Assembly and the Southwest Alaska Municipal Council.
Emilie Springer of Homer is a fisherman holds a master’s degree in marine affairs from the University of Washington.
Jed Whittaker of Anchorage has been active in Alaska’s Green Party and on various fishing and community-related programs.

Governor Walker will soon make his recommendations to the Secretary of Commerce for final approval. #